Blazing Fires

setting sun

Traced the trail of fallen stars

smoldering on the path of all

the things I’ve left behind

Felt that familiar tingle as those

melancholy-hued flares cauterized

my choices, incinerating regrets

Oh, how those stars burn, burn, burn

scorching the surface of wayward dreams

solving solutions to riddles that never had answers

Sometimes a spark is enough to seek

a new constellation, one no longer obscured

by flames I fanned too long

So burn, all you fallen stars, burn

I am the phoenix rising, I can take the heat

I am the fire blazing in the western sky



photo: mine

prompts: WyldeVerse, TastyPoem, WP Discover Challenge

4 thoughts on “Blazing Fires

  1. Beautiful. I like the last stanza the best: “So burn, all you fallen stars, burn/ I am the phoenix rising, I can take the heat/I am the fire blazing in the western sky.” As if the speaker is more brilliant, brighter, than the stars themselves.

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for your comments.

